Xmas homework(s)

Among the joy of being an expatriate is that you do not have to go in your family and take advantage of this holiday period to rest, do some personal projects and dedicate time to things you wanted to do.

Since the last couple of days, I am trying to use SeL4, a security-oriented kernel that has been formally proven. Sounds sexy, right? For now, I am not quite sure to fully understand how it works and the development environment is huge. It reminds me my old days, when working on taste that requires a full virtual machine just to work. Ah, the joy of development environments that are designed like a Russian jail, so convenient and easy to use!

The goal of this project is to be able to generate SeL4 secure applications from architecture models (mostly AADL). The high-level security requirements would be verified at the model level and would ultimately be transformed into code. This is what I am trying to do during this holiday period.

I am also trying to train for Worlds Ends 100 that will take place in May. Some friends have been there last week-end and told me the course is challenging and intense. As there is an aggressive 19 hours cut-off, I need to work my ass right now in order to finish the race on time. Unfortunately, I do not have the opportunity to train on the course and all I can do is mimic the elevation profile in the parks around Pittsburgh.

On a side note, I am now an official pacer for the Pittsburgh Half-Marathon. If you are running the half and plan to finish in 1:45, I will be around you.

The weather in Pittsburgh is still surprisingly hot. More than 16C.

Happy Holidays.

Xmas homework(s)

Leave a Reply

